Jimmy Barnes, Gang of Youths, Paul Kelly & Vance Joy Among 2018 ARIA Nominees

Just in

Jimmy Barnes, Gang of Youths, Paul Kelly & Vance Joy Among 2018 ARIA Nominees AAP

Jimmy Barnes, Gang of Youths, Paul Kelly and Vance Joy are among the nominees for this year's ARIA Awards.

This is the 23rd ARIA Award nomination for Barnes - who was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2005 - this time in the Best Original Soundtrack category for his Working Class Boy album.

Fresh of the back of their NRL Grand Final performance, western Sydney boys Gang of Youths picked up two nominations, for Best Video (The Heart Is A Muscle) and Best Australian Live Act.

Paul Kelly has also been nominated for Best Australian Live Act, while Vance Joy picked up three nods this year, including Best Song of the Year for Lay It On Me.

The 2018 ARIA Awards take place on November 28.

ARIA Awards 2018 Nominees

Best Adult Contemporary Album

Lotta Sea Lice - Courtney Barnett & Kurt Vile

Killer Under A Blood Moon - Dan Sultan

Solastalgia - Missy Higgins

To A Stranger - Odette

Nation of Two - Vance Joy

Best Country Album

Adam & Brooke - Adam Eckersley and Brooke McClymont

Real Class Act - Fanny Lumsden

Campfire - Kasey Chambers and the Fireside Disciples

Country Heart - The Wolfe Brothers

Brave & The Broken - Travis Collins

Best Blues and Roots Album

Snow - Angus and Julia Stone

Milyakburra - Emily Wurramara

Golden Magnetic - Mama Kin Spender

Don't Talk About It - Ruby Boots

Flow State - Tash Sultana

Best Original Soundtrack or Musical Theatre Cast Album

Acute Misfortune (Original Soundtrack) - Evelyn Ida Morris

The Secret Daughter Season Two (Songs from the Original 7 Series) - Jessica Mauboy

Working Class Boy The Soundtracks - Jimmy Barnes

1/1 (Original Soundtrack) - Liars

Muriel's Wedding The Musical (The Original Cast Recording) - Muriel's Wedding The Musical

Best Children's Album

The Justine Clarke Show! - Justine Clarke

10th Birthday Party - Lah-Lah

Santa's Coming! - Sam Moran

Helpful Songs For Little People - Teeny Tiny Stevies

Wiggle Pop! - The Wiggles

Best Urban Release

Vintage Modern - 360

My Astral Plane - Esoterik

Clark Griswold (feat. Adrian Eagle) - Hilltop Hoods

Engraved in the Game - Kerser

Native Tongue - Mojo Juju

Best Female Artist


Alison Wonderland - Awake

Amy Shark - Love Monster

Courtney Barnett - Tell Me How You Really Feel

Sia - Flames

Tash Sultana - Flow State

Best Male Artist

Dan Sultan - Killer Under A Blood Moon

Dean Lewis - Be Alright

Gurrumul - Djarimirri (Child of the Rainbow)

Troye Sivan - Bloom

Vance Joy - Nation of Two

Best Video

I Said Hi - Amy Shark

Survival In The City - Client Liaison

Need A Little Time - Courtney Barnett

Be Alright - Dean Lewis

The Heart Is A Muscle - Gang of Youths

Native Tongue - Mojo Juju

Fire - Peking Duk

Go Bang - Pnau

Salvation - Tash Sultana

Do What You Want - The Presets

Best Australian Live Act

5 Seconds of Summer - Meet You There Tour

Amy Shark - Love Monster Tour

Client Liaison - Expo Liaison

Courtney Barnett - Tell Me How You Really Feel National Tour

Dean Lewis - 2017 National Tour

Gang of Youths - Gang of Youths 2017 National Tour

Paul Kelly - Life is Fine Tour 2017

Peking Duk - The Wasted Tour

Pnau - Pnau Changa Australian Tour

Tash Sultana - Homecoming Tour

Best Independent Release

Snow - Angus and Julia Stone

Tell Me How You Really Feel - Courtney Barnett

For Now - DMA's

Djarimirri (Child of the Rainbow) - Gurrumul

Go Bang - Pnau

Best Group

5 Seconds of Summer - Youngblood

DMA's - For Now

Peking Duk - Fire

Pnau - Go Bang

Rufus Du Sol - No Place

Best Rock Album

How To Socialise & Make Friends - Camp Cope

Tell Me How You Really Feel - Courtney Barnett

For Now - DMA's

Stay - Luca Brasi

Lost Friends - Middle Kids

Best Hard Rock/ Heavy Metal Album

Bloody Lovely - DZ Deathrays

Ugly Produce - King Parrot

Reverence - Parkway Drive

The Mortal Coil - Polaris

Different Beings Being Different - West Thebarton

Music Teacher of the Year

Becky Hall - Education Institute, Royal Children's Hospital Melbourne (VIC)

Scott Maxwell - Grant High School, Mount Gambier (SA)

Dean Harawira - Nerang State High, Nerang, Gold Coast (QLD)

Deborah Skelton - Caladenia Primary School, Canning Vale, Perth (WA)

Best Dance Release

Awake - Alison Wonderland

Losing It - Fisher

Fire - Peking Duk

Go Bang - Pnau

No Place - Rufus Du Sol


Breakthrough Artist

Alex Lahey - I Love You Like A Brother 

Jack River - Sugar Mountain

Mojo Juju - Native Tongue

Odette - To A Stranger

Ruel - Dazed & Confused


Best Pop Release

Youngblood - 5 Seconds of Summer

Love Monster - Amy Shark

Be Alright - Dean Lewis

Sugar Mountain - Jack River

Bloom - Troye Sivan


Best International Artist 

Ed Sheeran - +

Post Malone - Beerbongs & Bentleys & Stoney

P!nk - Beautiful Trauma

Drake - Scorpion & More life

Taylor Swift - reputation

Eminem - Revival & Kamikaze

Sam Smith - The Thrill of it All

Imagine Dragons - Evolve 

Khalid - American Teen

Camila Cabello - Camila

Song of the Year

Youngblood - 5 Seconds of Summer

I Said Hi - Amy Shark

Chateau - Angus and Julia Stone

Healing Hands - Conrad Sewell

Be Alright - Dean Lewis

Fire/ Reprisal - Peking Duk

Go Bang - Pnau

Coming Home - Sheppard

My My My! - Troye Sivan

Lay It On Me - Vance Joy

Album of the Year

Love Monster - Amy Shark 

Tell Me How You Really Feel - Courtney Barnett

Djarimirri (Child of the Rainbow) - Gurrumul

Changa - Pnau

Bloom - Troye Sivan