Gunners' Fond Farewell In Perth

Oz fans begging for more.

Gunners' Fond Farewell In Perth

“You know where you are?! You’re in PERTH baby!!”

When Axl Rose localised that famous line from “Welcome to The Jungle” at their Domain Stadium Show, you could feel the energy of the crowd raise almost instantly.

And at song number 4 in the set – it felt like that was where the band hit their stride too. Tightened. Axl’s voice had warmed up (he sang REALLY well!)

And it was clear that the Oz Tour was gonna end in style!

After standard set-opener “It’s So Easy”; then “Mr Brownstone” (both from the legendary “Appetite for Destruction” album) the crowd mood had been dimmed slightly by the title track from “Chinese Democracy”. And they did “Better” - from the same album – a couple of songs later.

Note to the Gunners (well to Axl really): Mate!! No-one wants to hear songs off that album, at a “reunion” show with Slash and Duff (who didn’t play on those tracks anyway). Stop it! OK, got that off my chest.

Now to the bloody sensational bits. And there were many!!

The Gunners belted out an epic 27 song set…which included the stuff they just HAVE to do: “Sweet Child…” and “November Rain” – both MASSIVE sing-alongs. Other highlights for me: “Rocket Queen”; “Civil War” and “Estranged” – the latter 2 especially being showcase tracks for some mind-blowing Slash guitar work.

There were surprises too:

As the end of the show approached, Axl announced a “band pick” – and launched into a killer version of “My Michelle” - which I’m pretty sure they hadn’t done at the other Aussie shows. A special treat for West Aussies fans of the “Appetite…” album. 2 songs later (after the awesome “Yesterdays”) they ripped into a rollicking take on “Used to Love Her” from “G’N’R Lies”. Another very welcome surprise. The legendary “Nightrain” rounded out an amazing main set.

I expected the famous “Guns…and….Roses” chant to call the boys back on stage, but they came out for the encore before there was time for it to echo around the stadium.

No complaints from anyone there - as they rounded out the night with “Don’t Cry”, “The Seeker” (The Who’s classic) and an explosive (literally, fireworks!) rendition of “Paradise City”…which of course sent the Subiaco crowd into a rock’n’roll frenzy.

The Gunners are officially back, and in amazing form.

Oh and one of my friends was disappointed they hadn’t performed a particular “whistle-along” hit from “Lies”. I said: “Well hopefully they’ll tour again mate: all we need is just a little Patience!”

Written by: @TimLordan1

Set List

  1. It's So Easy
  2. Mr. Brownstone
  3. Chinese Democracy
  4. Welcome to the Jungle
  5. Double Talkin' Jive
  6. Better
  7. Estranged
  8. Live and Let Die
    (Wings cover)
  9. Rocket Queen
  10. You Could Be Mine
  11. Attitude
    (Misfits cover - with "You Can't Put Your Arms Around a Memory" intro)
  12. This I Love
  13. Civil War
    (with "Voodoo Child" outro)
  14. Coma
    (with band introductions)

    Slash Guitar Solo

  15. Speak Softly Love (Love Theme From The Godfather)
    (Nino Rota cover - instrumental, Slash guitar solo)
  16. Sweet Child O' Mine
  17. My Michelle
  18. Yesterdays
  19. Used to Love Her
  20. Wish You Were Here
    (Pink Floyd cover - Slash & Richard Fortus guitar duet)
  21. November Rain
    ("Layla" piano intro with Axl Rose playing piano)
  22. Knockin' on Heaven's Door
    (Bob Dylan cover)
  23. Nightrain


  1. Don't Cry
    (with Led Zeppelin's "Babe I'm Gonna Leave You" intro)
  2. The Seeker
    (The Who cover)
  3. Paradise City